Black East Indies

Canard
Newly Hatched Chick
Answers: 1

Black East Indies

Post by Canard » Mon Feb 08, 2016 4:13 pm

I just picked up a decent breeding pair of BEIs and three yearling ducks. I'm new to this breed (but not ducks) and may like to show them down the road. I have some questions if anyone can help out.

I know they are not great layers but how many eggs per season do they lay? When do they come into lay for southern Ontario? I read May-June. Will they become broody, or do I have to incubate?

As far as pens go; I am going to convert my 4x8' meat chicken tractor into their pen. I'm planning on a wire floor on the outdoor part. What wire spacing should I use? Is 1/2 x 1/2" too small to allow manure to go through? should I used 1" x 1/2" for the floor? Does anyone have pictures of their pens they use for bantam ducks? Breeding pens or grow out pens. I'd love to see them.

What should I be looking/breeding for? Maximum green sheen, black legs, black eyes, small size. Any tips you can share would be appreciated.

Does anyone else here raise BEIs?

Thanks, Chris.

WLLady
Stringy Old Soup Pot Hen of a Moderator
Answers: 5

Black East Indies

Post by WLLady » Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:25 am

well, i'm going to be absolutely no help whatsoever, but wanted to say congrats on the birds :-)
:giraffe: Pet quality wheaten/blue wheaten ameraucanas, welsummers, barred rocks, light brown leghorns; Projects on the go: rhodebars, welbars

windwalkingwolf
Poultry Guru - pullet level
Answers: 3

Black East Indies

Post by windwalkingwolf » Tue Feb 09, 2016 5:17 pm

Not much help here either, but I would think the 1/2 wire would be fine. Duck splot is runny, so most should go through.

kortispoultry
On the Roost

Black East Indies

Post by kortispoultry » Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:06 pm