What to feed Muskovie Ducks?

Aurora
Newly Hatched Chick

What to feed Muskovie Ducks?

Post by Aurora » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:52 pm

Hi, I am new to the world of ducks. I have 2 muskovies, born in mid September 2015. They have decided that they like flying into one of my chicken pens and now they kind of live there. The pen has laying hens so they are on laying mash. Is that safe for the ducks long term? Should I try putting a roof over the pen so they can't fly in and feeding them something else (game bird pellets perhaps?) that has more protein? I heard of giving them cat food and meal worms. They don't like cat food. They kind of eat the meal worms but I'd have to leave them there for a bit and the hens would clean them up lickedy split! :lunch:
Oh and I still have no idea if they are male or female as they are the same size and I have nothing to compare them to.

thegawd
Head Cockerel-Moderator
Answers: 1

Re: What to feed Muskovie Ducks?

Post by thegawd » Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:35 pm

I feed my waterfowl (3 geese and 3 call ducks) the same as the chickens. most of my birds all run together so I dont worry about it much. they will figure it out... sounds thats like thats exactly what your ducks are doing. I feed laymash mixed with whole corn and black oil sunflower seeds (BOSS).
Al

Home Grown Poultry

baronrenfrew
Stringy Old Chicken

Post by baronrenfrew » Mon Jan 25, 2016 9:11 pm

Muscovy ducks are the "fly catchers" of the barn. They'll eat slugs and love minnows in water. I once was digging in the garden and shoveled open a nest of moles. A duck swallowed them and she followed me forever after in the garden. I used to sit on a pail and toss bread and the ducks would catch the bread in mid air. Otherwise feed as chickens. Do not feed medicated feed to ducks, it'll kill them.
Diligently follow the path of two swords as one. Percieve that which the eye cannot see. Seek the truth in all things. Do not engage in useless activity.