New! not much experienced yet but interested and ready to commit!

New to PTO? Want to stop in and say hi and introduce yourself? Here's the place to do it!
TyroneOfSix
Newly Hatched Chick

New! not much experienced yet but interested and ready to commit!

Post by TyroneOfSix » Tue Nov 02, 2021 12:14 pm

Hello,

Im Tyrone, as you read I have very minimal experience helping raise backyard poulets and turkeys as a teenager some fifteen to twenty years ago! I have an opportunity to introduce poultry to my current employment doing some tourism and interpretive work with children and adults. So I have been exploring starting a flock of mixed waterfowl and poultry at work and for my own purposes at home.

Based on my current research I may be getting a little ahead of myself in regards to mixing. I have access several acres of fallow lands and early successional forest and meadow as well as an established pond.

My background is in ecological restoration and historical interpretation and fish and wildlife work.

I am exploring using (ducks/geese) to do some Ecological Restoration through integrated grazing and pasture management. I have my heart set on waterfowl but my only experiences are with chickens and turkeys. I have friends to raise ducks and geese and they are adamant i try it out.

my next steps are exploration of mobile or temp fencing, and building poultry tractors and fencing in the pond.

any suggestions or guidance I would greatly appreciate

Take care :)

Killerbunny
Poultry Guru - total zen level
Answers: 4

Re: New! not much experienced yet but interested and ready to commit!

Post by Killerbunny » Tue Nov 02, 2021 12:40 pm

Welcome to the site. Don't be afraid to ask questions, we will not be nasty! Quite a few folks here know a lot about ducks & geese and also forestry etc. Enjoy the site!
:iheartpto:
Beltsville Small White turkeys.
Mutt chickens for eggs
RIP Stephen the BSW Tom and my coffee companion.
RIP Lucky the Very Brave Splash Wyandotte rooster.