Niagara Greetings!

New to PTO? Want to stop in and say hi and introduce yourself? Here's the place to do it!
Fullcircle
Newly Hatched Chick

Niagara Greetings!

Post by Fullcircle » Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:33 pm

:cow: Hi! I'm new here, and new to raising layers... so I'll have lots of reading to do and plenty of questions!

I am mom to our four kids, and wife to a very patient man. I'm a nurse who always wanted to farm... but my parents discouraged those inclinations...so, after 25 yrs of nursing, dear hubby and decided to take the plunge and give homesteading/small farming a "go". Of note: DH is not at all inclined to farm...this is my dream...but he's willing to indulge me...and it's my job to balance hobby and business aspects- this property has to cover its own expenses.

I raised 300 white rock broilers on pasture last year, and sold them in July, September, and November, along with pastured chicken eggs. In January we processed 2 pasture-raised, grain finished bull calves for veal (from the dairy where I milk every morning), and will have another two ready to process in the mid to late summer, depending on pasture. We will repeat the broilers in spring and fall again, and I'll be growing produce for sale as well this year... it will be busy!

We have had chickens for three years: first in a backyard coop in town, and a year ago we bit the bullet and purchased a small farm. Now we have a flock of 40 ISA brown hens, 4 home- grown pullets (EE rooster over ISA brown hens) who just started to lay, (one roo from that hatch), a gorgeous mystery roo "Archie" who was given to me via the SPCA (thinking maybe BCM or Welsummer?) and an Orpington/Silkie cross roo "Mr Lodge" (free off Kijiji).