The story of food

baronrenfrew
Stringy Old Chicken

The story of food

Post by baronrenfrew » Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:41 pm

I am a storyteller by trade (a salesguy, and telling stories is a lot more fun than flipcharts and brochures).

And the story of food fascinates me: how food has changed history; how food affects us in the present; and the future of food as I can see it.

So right now I am drinking a glass of port.

Port is a fortified red wine, and its a bit more expensive than a typical bottle of red wine. Port started as barrels of cheap crappy wine that no one wanted, and since the island of Porto off Portugal was the last stop on the sailing trip to British India, so it was named. The wine was sent to India: from the temperate regions of Europe south through the heat of the equater, to the cold of the Skeleton Coast (South Africa) back north to the tropics of India, rocking back and forth all the way. There the barrels were opened and tasted and deemed to be be "crap or plonk" and no one wanted to buy it so it was sent back to Porto. Back it went, the long way around Africa, a journey taking many months by sail. At Porto the barrels were opened...and it tasted marvelous! A new drink was born, and the only way anyone knew how to make it was to send it to India and back! Therefore the high price.

:beer: cheers!
Diligently follow the path of two swords as one. Percieve that which the eye cannot see. Seek the truth in all things. Do not engage in useless activity.

The Book of Five Rings, Miyamoto Musashi, Japan's greatest swordsmen

TomK
Stringy Old Chicken

The story of food

Post by TomK » Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:59 pm

Awesome piece of information...I like port...
If you don't plant the tree, you will never have the fruit...

baronrenfrew
Stringy Old Chicken

The story of food

Post by baronrenfrew » Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:04 pm