Smoker advice

Raising your own and being self sufficient.
Forum rules
Warning: This thread may contain subjects that are disturbing to some (including processing instructions, predator control methods etc.). If you do not wish to read about these topics do not open them. Overt criticism of these practices, which are required for self-sufficiency, crop and livestock protection will not be tolerated. Any discussion pertaining to infringement on animal rights in a radical manner will result in banning from PTO at the moderator’s discretion.
Killerbunny
Poultry Guru - total zen level
Answers: 4

Smoker advice

Post by Killerbunny » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:59 am

SO I obtained something very nifty in trade for potatoes etc (thanks for taking the damn squash)! So I feel the time may be right to try smoking something (no not that) but I've never done it before. I would like to smoke maybe my own ham or bacon and perhaps turkey breast. I know nothing and don't want to spend a fortune. I do have a charcoal BBQ could I do something with that? Any suggestions welcome.
:iheartpto:
Beltsville Small White turkeys.
Mutt chickens for eggs
RIP Stephen the BSW Tom and my coffee companion.
RIP Lucky the Very Brave Splash Wyandotte rooster.
RIP little Muppet the rescue cat.
:turkey:

:bat:

WLLady
Stringy Old Soup Pot Hen of a Moderator
Answers: 5

Re: Smoker advice

Post by WLLady » Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:22 am