Building a new chicken coop...

Raising your own and being self sufficient.
Forum rules
Warning: This thread may contain subjects that are disturbing to some (including processing instructions, predator control methods etc.). If you do not wish to read about these topics do not open them. Overt criticism of these practices, which are required for self-sufficiency, crop and livestock protection will not be tolerated. Any discussion pertaining to infringement on animal rights in a radical manner will result in banning from PTO at the moderator’s discretion.
Shelly_palmer
Newly Hatched Chick

Building a new chicken coop...

Post by Shelly_palmer » Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:14 am

Hi folks, I am new in this field. I have an outdoor shed in the backyard where I keep some of the tools and equipments. When we bought a new garden shed the old one is left unused. The old one that we have is a Highland Gable model 10*8 garden shed. But it's roofing is damaged and is attacked by termites.

Is it possible to make a chicken coop out of it? Or should I build a new chicken coop in my backyard? I would like to know which is the best material for the chicken coop roofing. I found in an article that metal roofing is safe to use and can be worked in all temperatures. So shall I go for metal roofing or do you have any other suggestions??

What are the things to be considered for building a coop? What about the cost breakdown for building a new one? Please help me with your ideas and thoughts. Thanks in advance for any help.

WLLady
Stringy Old Soup Pot Hen of a Moderator
Answers: 5

Re: Building a new chicken coop...

Post by WLLady » Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:26 am

the biggest considerations with a coop are
1) ventilation
2) reducing wind in the winter/cold months
3) safety for your chickens
4) a place out of the weather (rain etc)