Question Newbie question: is there a most sustainable breed?

General discussion forum.
TyroneOfSix
Newly Hatched Chick

Newbie question: is there a most sustainable breed?

Post by TyroneOfSix » Sat Jan 29, 2022 11:10 pm

Forgive me if I am adding this question to the wrong topic thread. I have been reading and researching a few months. I see the many reasons why breeds are used and bred. But what are say the top 5 most sustainable breeds for Ontario winters etc to keep that will generally reproduce (brood) and be like a reliable self sustaining chicken? Not necessarily for profit just as a good breed to keep around, I guess dual purpose is the term that comes to mind. I’m sure the question has been asked but I didn’t find the thread and I’m still learning to use the website

Thank you

Ty

Ontario Chick
Poultry Guru
Answers: 2

Re: Newbie question: is there a most sustainable breed?

Post by Ontario Chick » Sun Jan 30, 2022 8:25 am

I guess number one in my mind would be the Chanteclec
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chantecler_chicken

Killerbunny
Poultry Guru - total zen level
Answers: 4

Post by Killerbunny » Sun Jan 30, 2022 8:33 am

@lolotsung just got some of these.
:iheartpto:
Beltsville Small White turkeys.
Mutt chickens for eggs
RIP Stephen the BSW Tom and my coffee companion.
RIP Lucky the Very Brave Splash Wyandotte rooster.
RIP little Muppet the rescue cat.
:turkey:

:bat:

lolotsung
Free Ranging

Post by lolotsung » Mon Jan 31, 2022 1:06 am

This is my limited experience so far:

I looked for chanteclers last year and emailed http://dandhnewman.ca/chantecler-chickens/ and Greg Oakes (famous breeder near Guelph) is on this breeder's list https://chantecler.club/?attachment_id=577 but no reply. I also tried finding Galep ([url]https://coop-la-basse-cour.forumactif.c ... basse-cour[/url] in Quebec (famous breeder) but no luck there. I found http://www.foxfirefarm.ca/chickens.html but they are quite far away from me.