Question Why did my new chickens die?

General discussion forum.
Jetsko
Newly Hatched Chick

Why did my new chickens die?

Post by Jetsko » Fri Jul 05, 2019 7:52 pm

:new: I'm new to raising chickens - here is my story with questions at the bottom. Any advice is gratefully accepted.

Last year we purchased a home that had a secure chicken coop, tiny run (3x6) and three red chickens, species unknown. Which we promptly named Elvis, Priscilla & Presley. From fall to spring of this year, we let the chickens free range most days. In March, a fox had Priscilla for lunch (very sad day for us) and we started to make plans to increase the size of the run and add new chickens. Added a covered 10x10 run that attaches to the old run & coop via a short tunnel.
In early June Lisa & Marie joined the group. I blocked the tunnel, all girls roosted in coop at night, in the morning I move Lisa & Marie to the big run. Left Elvis & Presley in the old run & coop for the morning. In the first week, only Elvis & Presley free ranged under my supervision, 2nd week on Lisa & Marie joined the old girls in the yard (we have an acre). After free ranging, Elvis & Presley were placed in the new run, Lisa & Marie in the old run & coop. If they had a 2nd free range time, again they were switched as to which run they were in. At night whoever was in the new run was carried into the coop to roost & everything was locked up. After 2 weeks, I unblocked the tunnel and monitored chickens for bullying. Some pecking from old girls to new but no blood or lost feathers. In the run, they have 3 feeding & 2 water stations.