Grrr...vegans! :)

General discussion forum.
scottishpet
Fuzzy Dinosaur Stage

Grrr...vegans! :)

Post by scottishpet » Mon May 27, 2019 2:49 pm

OK...wee bit of a rant. Was talking to a vegan on the weekend. No big deal, to each there own...but his comment to me was that "Poultry people are cold and callus when it comes to their birds. They don't see them at living things at all. They are money or meat and that is the sum total of their worth". I differed from his opinion, though I am new to the homestead I have encountered folks who are trying to get back to the rural roots of life and have a well rounded view of the animals in their care. For me it was a case of wanting to make sure each and every moment of life any animal will have here on the farm is the very best I am capable of providing. Those last 30 seconds of life will be filled with peace and then oblivion, knowing that I am the good guy with the feed bucket and have cared for them daily. I was trying to remember someone on here's signature tag line which clearly denoted their love and care for their birds...so I came here looking to see if I could find it. It was KillerBunny's tag

" Beltsville Small White turkeys.
Mutt chickens for eggs
RIP Stephen the BSW Tom and my coffee companion.
RIP Lucky the Very Brave Splash Wyandotte rooster.
RIP little Muppet the rescue cat"

...reading that I can see without even knowing this person that their birds are
far more than money or meat. There was clearly a relationship between her and the Tom...they were coffee
buddies. That stuck in my head when I read it, and trying to explain to this very enthusiastic vegan that perhaps
his reference might, or maybe suited to large commercial enterprises, but most homesteaders, and small
farmers are not doing this for money at all. It is a life style choice we are making; just like his choice to kill
thousands of small animals and rodents to consume his flour based vegan products, when the harvesters process