Is it just me?

General discussion forum.
Happy
Poultry Guru - pullet level

Is it just me?

Post by Happy » Fri Nov 02, 2018 11:15 pm

Maybe I'm just moody because it's fall and I work in retail lol.

I'm becomng increasingly frustrated with people who go buy a few birds....read a bunch of stuff off Google or BYC or FB and suddenly become experts and start throwing out advice Willy Nilly to other unsuspecting flock owners. I know NOTHING about poultry compared to most so I do read a lot and follow a lot of sites and discussions but unless I have some specific EXPERIENCE that I feel may be useful I keep my mouth shut and hope to learn along with the original poster. I also don't just take some stranger's advice (or even worse -google) as gospel.
There's folks on here that I would absolutely listen to. Folks that have more poultry knowledge in their pinky finger than I do in my entirety. Outside of that...no trust. I doubt this is isolated to poultry but I find it annoying and offensive even.

Rant over.

KimChick
Head Chicken

Re: Is it just me?

Post by KimChick » Fri Nov 02, 2018 11:51 pm

Wow, that was a really good rant. Being still new to hobby farming with animals, I wouldn't know experienced advice from not so experienced. So, I research, ask questions, take it all in, "digest it", and do what works for me.
I hope I'm not the subject of your rant!

Happy

Post by Happy » Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:01 am