Electric Fence

Have a cool plan for a coop? Or new roost designs? Or you simply want to show off your new building.
thegawd
Head Cockerel-Moderator
Answers: 1

Electric Fence

Post by thegawd » Tue Aug 30, 2016 10:32 am

well after the carnage the other night I have decided to look into setting up an electric fence to keep out coons ect... so I have a charger, its a Red Snap'r made by Zareba. it says up to 15 miles... thats pretty big... would it be overkill? now my run has a steel roofing skirt all the way around it plus the coop is steel as well. could this be used as the ground? then add the hot wire 18" from the bottom and say 8" out? hmmm im a complete newb with electric fences.... what about the wires? I guess im guna need some real electric fence wire eh? now what about running it on a timer? it dosent specify the watts on the charger but I have a couple 500 watt outdoor timers.

thanks all!
Screenshot_2016-08-30-10-14-591574441893.png
Screenshot_2016-08-30-10-27-52808585912.png
Al

Home Grown Poultry

Brebis
Chatty Hen

Electric Fence

Post by Brebis » Tue Aug 30, 2016 10:59 am

The important number you need is the output as a distance doesn't tell you anything about the conditions I.e number of wires, electro net or overgrowth. For your use, it should be fine but the bigger the shock the better!
Don't skimp on a ground, a good solid metal post 4' in the ground is ideal. You can buy specific ones but any solid metal will do. It also depends a bit on soil type as lighter soils are dryer and may need more ground posts-at our old place we had 3 4' grounding posts on sandy loam for 50 ac of fence.
For a more permanent set up like this that isn't under tension, the 16g electric wire works well and it's quite cheap. There are lots of different offset insulators for this too. Too bad you're so far away, I have several rooms of it not used!