Incubator opinions

Happy
Poultry Guru - pullet level

Incubator opinions

Post by Happy » Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:18 pm

My local farm supply doesn't stock anything but the really cheap styrofoam incubators. But he can order a hovabator in for me. I've looked on line at current models but just seeing if anybody has suggestions for a complete newbie. I've only incubated once and it was in an ancient borrowed galvanized round thing lol. Still air and fully manual. Hatched 3 out of 9 eggs.
The most I would incubated would be 30 eggs. I've looked around in old threads and Al's custom made incubator (I could only dream of building that!) And honestly just want something easy and reliable that won't break my heart. This will be my first "treat" to myself with money that didn't go up in smoke.

MommaChick
Fuzzy Dinosaur Stage

Incubator opinions

Post by MommaChick » Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:41 pm

If it is something you want to sort of invest in, I would consider looking at the Brinsea models. They are expensive, but will last, and give you excellent results. I have a sportsman cabinet, and have tried every cheap model under the sun. The money I wasted trying to save could have bought 2 Brinseas.
Momma to 4 little chicks down on The Farm
Chickens: Standard White Chanteclers, Bantam Rhode Island Reds, Bantam Black Wyandottes.
Rabbits: Black, Broken Black, & Black Otter Rex
Big Critters: Milking Shorthorns (Reg and Grade), Hay burning Horses out back, and one patient man

thegawd
Head Cockerel-Moderator
Answers: 1

Incubator opinions

Post by thegawd » Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:51 pm