Breeder found for unusual chickens

Satellite
On the Roost

Post by Satellite » Mon Sep 26, 2016 12:34 pm

Hi all

I am posting this only to let you all know of an Ontario Breeder that has some unusual breeds. I just got some Euskal Oila eggs from her and she mentioned that she would be selling off her Blue/Black/Splash Ameraucanas to make room for Sumtalers and Altsteilers [both originally from Greenfire Farms]. She also has blue/black/splash, jubilee and lemon cuckoo orpingtons, marans, chantcteclers, swedish flower hens and more [Some of her breeds from her website are no longer available, but you can ask]. Gwen said she will likely have eggs available throughout the winter.

Skara Brae Farms is located in Campbellford. This is my first time getting eggs from her, but she is our regular vet. She is a lovely soul.

I am not benefiting in any way from posting this--I just wanted to let you know as when I first started with chicks last year, no matter how much I googled farms in Ontario, I couldn't really find anywhere else to go but Performance Poultry [which I have gotten some good chickens from--no complaints.] I am thrilled to find this forum for sure and wanted to increase others' obsession with even more unusual breeds--those sumtalers are awesome looking!

baronrenfrew
Stringy Old Chicken

Post by baronrenfrew » Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:53 pm

Satellite; you've been flying out of sight...I see we never gave you an official welcome. :beer: so cheers and happy Oktober and welcome!

I think its fair to say to keep the leads coming. Good birds and rare breeds and serious breeders are always welcome information.

It seems there are those that surf websites a lot and dabble in breeding (like me) and those that are serious breeders and don't web surf much.

Keep em coming! (Also this site has been great as a social site and not populated by hustlers trying to make a buck....not that there's anything wrong with making a buck!)