Question To Medicate or Not to Medicate

Forum rules
Any advice in this section should not be taken to overrule advice by a certified licensed veterinarian. You should always consult a veterinarian for treatment or diagnoses of animal disease or injury. The information in this thread is simply the experience of board members and is not to be taken as a substitution for veterinary advice or treatment.
ThePluckyHen
Newly Hatched Chick

To Medicate or Not to Medicate

Post by ThePluckyHen » Wed Jun 17, 2020 9:35 pm

I'm new to poultry rearing, I've had some experience and a lot of knowledge gain through my boyfriend's flock but this is my first time as an independent hen-mother. I am planning on hatching my own chicks and have been doing a lot of research on potential issues. One of the concerns I have is Coccidiosis. I've read a lot and am still unsure if I need to give my first brood (hatched in an incubator) with no contact to any other chickens and raised indoors in an unused brooder, medicated feed. I've read conflicting advice from yes absolutely to "if they are healthy it's probably fine to use organic and unmedicated feed". Does anyone have some advice for an anxious first-time parent?

Regards,

The Plucky Hen

kenya
Henny Penny
Answers: 1

Re: To Medicate or Not to Medicate

Post by kenya » Wed Jun 17, 2020 10:38 pm

You don't need medicated feed if you get the chicks outside every day to free range on grass and dirt. This will build up a natural immunity to cocci. It doesn't have to be very long, an hour, and if the weather's nasty miss that day.

captivakennels
Newly Hatched Chick

Post by captivakennels » Thu Jun 18, 2020 2:09 am

it would depend on where you are and the ground the birds are going to. Also how clean is their area etc. Coccidia can kill or more so the bloody stools and dehydration can kill...why would you not prevent it and slowly build up resistance?

Killerbunny
Poultry Guru - total zen level
Answers: 4