Solved How often are your chicks getting lice, scaly leg mites and bumblefoot?

Forum rules
Any advice in this section should not be taken to overrule advice by a certified licensed veterinarian. You should always consult a veterinarian for treatment or diagnoses of animal disease or injury. The information in this thread is simply the experience of board members and is not to be taken as a substitution for veterinary advice or treatment.
Satellite
On the Roost

How often are your chicks getting lice, scaly leg mites and bumblefoot?

Post by Satellite » Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:06 pm

I am in my second year of chickens and it is one after the otherr after the other, despite what I thought was reasonable precautions. ....are they just that common that they will occur regularly?

Robbie
Head Chicken
Answers: 1

Post by Robbie » Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:15 pm

This is my second year, and I have not seen any of those things. My chicks all hatched from eggs here or acquired as hatchery day olds. They free range. The closest chickens are about a quarter of a mile away.
:sFun_mornincoffee:

Ontario Chick
Poultry Guru
Answers: 2

Post by Ontario Chick » Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:25 pm

In my 20+ years of raising poultry, I have had scaly mites once, they came on a Silky cockerel purchased at an auction.
Have not seen anything else since then.
My birds free range, so there is always a chance they will pick up something from wild birds, so I treat all birds with Ivomec in the fall before the new pullets join the flock and start laying and in the spring, before breeding season.
That seems to be all that is needed to keep everybody free of any unwelcome passengers ;)

Satellite
On the Roost

Post by Satellite » Wed Jul 13, 2016 7:08 am

Much thanks. I am getting ivomec shortly!

Killerbunny
Poultry Guru - total zen level
Answers: 4

Post by Killerbunny » Wed Jul 13, 2016 7:50 am